28.9 C
Wednesday, April 24, 2024

3:51 AM

28.9 C
Wednesday, April 24, 2024

3:51 AM

NorMin farmers, AEWs lauded in the National Corn Achievers Awards

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY, Nov. 21–Serving as a venue for various stakeholders of the corn industry to convene and discuss the current issues of the corn sector, the annual Philippine National Corn Congress was organized along with the 7th National Quality Corn Achievers Awards (NQCAA).

With the theme “Bountiful Harvest and Increased Farmers Income: Key to Prosperity and Inclusive Growth,” this year it gave recognition to the achievements of top-performing LGUs and DA RFOs in the production of quality corn, together with the active participation of their respective Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs) in support to the development of corn and cassava as well as the whole grains industry sector.

The  winners from Northern Mindanao in the recently concluded 7th National Quality Corn Achievers Awards (NQCAA) were:

Outstanding Province – Bukidnon

Outstanding Provincial Agriculturist – Alson G. Quimba, Bukidnon

Outstanding Provincial Corn Coordinator – Merlita D. Molina, Bukidnon

3rd CORNUCOPIA Awards – Sioan Gintong Araw Agricultural Cooperative (1st Place) – Gingoog, Misamis Oriental

Outstanding Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs):

Neptali C. Ambos – Lantapan, Bukidnon
Kristina P. Soria – Lantapan, Bukidnon
Bernido P. Miasco – Lantapan, Bukidnon
Ariel D. Boncales – Lantapan, Bukidnon
Maria Lilith M. Turan – Province of Bukidnon
Regiema A. Manaay – Malaybalay City, Bukidnon
Dayana L. Padilla – Impasugong, Bukidnon
Teofista T. Andojar – Tangub City, Misamis Occidental
Madeline R. Sabucdalao – Tangub City, Misamis Occidental
Lady Myres Y. Untulan – Tangub City, Misamis Occidental
Lanie R. Reyes – Tangub City, Misamis Occidental
Borton L. Pelisin – Valencia City, Bukidnon
Hilard T. Melendres – Valencia City, Bukidnon
Joel D. Gamboa – Valencia City, Bukidnon
Mariza R. Babao – Kitaotao, Bukidnon
Lucell P. Carpentero – Malaybalay City, Bukidnon
Elsie L. Aguilar – Malaybalay City, Bukidnon
Dante F. Dalaguit – Kadingilan, Bukidnon
Ricky Teodorico P. Lucero – Kadingilan, Bukidnon
Diomedes L. Tagadiad, Jr. – Kibawe, Bukidnon

Cassava Cluster Management Excellence Award – Salvacion Multipurpose Cooperative (2nd Runner-Up) – Kadingilan, Bukidnon

Part of the National Steering Committee of NQCAA, CCMEA & CORNUCOPIA Awards is DA Undersecretary for Operations Ariel T. Cayanan as Chairperson while Assistant Secretary for Field Operations Andrew B. Villacorta, CESO III, DVM, and ATI Director IV Alfredo S. Aton, MPS-DM serves as Vice-Chairperson respectively.

The Agricultural Training Institute-Regional Training Center X (ATI-RTC X) representatives include OIC-Center Director Maria Lydia A. Echavez, Corn Program Point Person Noriel Kris O. Santillan, and Administrative Officer IV Efren C. Macario. The event transpired on November 12-14, 2019 at the Iloilo Convention Center in Mandurriao, Iloilo City. (Vic Thor A. Palarca/ATI)